Lazy Days

It’s a lazy sunday. Aren’t those the best?! My dishes aren’t done, the laundry isn’t folded, my living room is cluttered, and don’t even look at the mess I call a bathroom; but sitting here reflecting on the sermon from the morning, I am at peace. Holding my sleeping daughter in my arms, I am complete. Listening to my son coo in his crib waking up from a nap, I am overcome with joy. There is a poem I once heard, author unknown; here are some of my favorite pieces of it:

Mother, oh Mother,

come shake out your cloth,

 empty the dustpan,

poison the moth,

hang out the washing

and butter the bread,

sew on a button and make up a bed.

Where is the mother whose house

is so shocking?

She’s up in the nursery,

blissfully rocking.

Oh, I’ve grown tired while reading Little Boy Blue, 

Dishes are waiting and bills are past due

The shopping’s not done

and there’s nothing for stew

But Look! Aren’t her eyes the most wonderful hue?

The cleaning and scrubbing

will wait till tomorrow,

for Children grow up,

as I’ve learned to my sorrow.

So quiet down, cobwebs.

Dust go to sleep.

I’m rocking my baby and babies don’t keep……

So whatever you are doing today, in the busy-ness of life, just stop. Spend time with your kids or your spouse; catch up with an old friend. Spend some time just BEING, rather than DOING. It’s ok to give yourself permission, I promise the mess and obligations will still be there waiting for you when you return, but for now; relax. Hope your lazy sunday is as beautiful as mine!

3 thoughts on “Lazy Days

Leave a Reply

